Our Vision

To be excellent through clients satisfaction

Our Mission

To fulfill the needs of the people in the Trincomalee District with efficient, impartial, reasonable and friendly manner  in line with Government Policy and through a co-ordination of correct planning and Resource Deployment.

History of Morawewa Divisional Secretariat

Morawewa Divisional Secretariat division is located in the boarder part of the Trincomalee district and bounded by Town & Gravest, Thampalakamam, Gomarankadewela, Kuchchaweli DS Divisions and Anuradhapura district. This division comprises a total area of 322.4Sq.km and 12% of the total area of the district and divided into 10 Grama Niladari divisions.
Since 1976, Morawewa Division was functioning as Assistant Government Agent’s Division. There after, this was changed and functions as Divisional Secretary’s Division.
Tamils, Sinhalese and Muslims are living together in Morawewa division. Morawewa is one of the rural village which is predominantly and Agricultural area. It has been analyzed and recorded in the historical notes that division is one of the oldest village and the best division with fertile soil, ancient tanks which are very necessary for cultivation, so the main economic activities are agricultural and agricultural based industries. The majority of the people will continue to depend on agriculture sector.
The people in this area have been displaced after disturbance that took place in the North East province and thereby cultivation of lands cattle breading and other similar development projects come to a standstill.
There are 38 villages covered by 10 Grama Nildaries’ divisions which are enclosed in the charts and sketches. The division is   in Seruwila electoral Division.
Due to recent escalation of conflict in the Eastern Province, displacement of families in Morawewa Division reached approximately 3166 after 1985. These families   were from all GN Divisions in the Division. However return of IDP s to their place  of origin too commenced  after ceasefire agreement in 2002, the number of  returnees up to now is 3004 families and awaiting  to return 162 families to Namalwatha , Morawewa  North , Morawewa south, Pankulam, Nochchikulam , Kithuluthu, and Awwianagar GN Divisions .
Climatically, the division falls – like the whole Eastern Province – within the dry zone of Sri Lanka. It has a mean annual temperature of 32.5 °C (max. of 37 °C in the months of July to September and min. of 29 °C in November to January). The monsoon rain is the most significant factor in terms of rainfall in the region. Morawewa Division receives rain during the period of the north-eastern monsoons from November to February. The average annual mean rainfall is 1525 mm, whereas the average monthly rainfall varies from 35 mm in the period between March and August to more than 600 mm in November.

Role performed at DS

Name From To
Mr. Heenatimulle 1976 1977
Mr. Volterk Hrthumuni 1977 1983
Mr. P.B.Abeykoon 1983 1983
Mr. U.B.Wijesundara 1983 1986
Mr. Sarathchandra 1986 1987
Mr.K.Jayasena 1987 1990
Mr. Randunuge 1990 1990

Mr. P.Hatharasinghe

1990 1995
Mr. H.W.Yasarathne 1995 2004
Mr.K.K.I.G.D.P.Wijethilake 2004 2009


Mr. W.M. Bathiya Vijayantha 2014  Up to date

News & Events

Scroll To Top